PSLogo Fastwax


Dylan Kwasniewski Wins Pole for ARCA Daytona Race

By  | 

By Matt Weaver (DAYTONA BEACH, Fla.) — In his first start at Daytona International Speedway, Dylan Kwasniewski will start on the pole for Saturday’s ARCA Racing Series Lucas Oil 200.

Kwasniewski is set to make his debut in the NASCAR Nationwide Series next weekend but must receive approval from the Sanctioning Body before he is eligible. The ARCA event will serve as his formal test. Kwasniewski believes he controls his own destiny by starting out front.

“Hopefully we can just stay out front,” Kwasniewski told Popular Speed after getting out of his car. “That would be ideal — staying out of trouble. Obviously we want to make all the laps so we can get approved for Nationwide. That’s our main goal but if we can win, that’s the best way to do it.”

Beyond the NASCAR drafting approval process, Kwasniewski is just honored to be sitting on the front row and is grateful for the support from his team at Turner Scott Motorsports.

“It’s awesome,” he added. “Sitting on the front row at Daytona is pretty awesome. Turner Scott Motorsports are all to thank here. All I have to do is press the gas down. They built an awesome car and I can’t thank everyone else enough.”

With his Nationwide Series approval on the line, Kwasniewski says he has to balance how aggressive he can be in pursuit of a victory while also impressing NASCAR officials.

“We want to get all the laps in and get approved for Daytona but if we can win, that becomes the best way to do that.”

This will be Kwasniewski’s second ARCA Racing Series start. He started from the pole in last year’s season finale at Kansas and finished fourth. He is the defending NASCAR Pro Series East champion after winning the Pro Series West championship in 2012.

Eight-time ARCA Daytona winner Bobby Gerhart sat on the provisional pole until he was disqualified in post-qualifying technical inspection.

The issue in the tech shed surrounded the car’s U-Bolt. His time was disallowed but he will make the field based on a provisional for championship points. He will start dead last in a scene reminiscent of 2012 when he was disqualified from qualifying, started at the rear and won the race anyway.

Chase Elliott will also need approval to run next week’s NASCAR Nationwide Series race. He qualified fifth. Neither Kwasniewski nor Elliott were told a number of laps they needed to complete to earn their superspeedway license.

“I’m not sure — they just told us to run the ARCA race,” Elliott said following his media center session.

“This drafting thing is pretty new to me,” Elliott said. “The car is good and drafts well but I’m coming into this completely new. I’m by no means a veteran drafter. But I hope to be around at the end, get approved, have fun and a chance to win on Saturday night.”

ARCA Racing Series at Daytona International Speedway Starting Lineup

1. Dylan Kwasniewski
2. Grant Enfinger
3. Buster Graham
4. Mark Thompson
5. Chase Elliott
6. Mason Mitchell
7. Tom Hessert
8. Will Kimmel
9. John Wes Townley
10. Terry Jones
11. Bryan Silas
12. Justin Allison
13. Brian Rose
14. Sean Corr
15. Clay Campbell
16. Frank Kimmel
17. Cole Powell
18. Matt Kurzejewski
19. Jared Marks
20. Scotty Hubler
21. Jeb Burton
22. Mario Gosselin
23. Benny Gordon
24. Derrick Lancaster
25. Tom Buzze
26. Bobby Grewohl
27. Scott Sheldon
28. Kody Weisner
29. Chris Bailey
30. Alx Danielsson
31. Justin Boston
32. Tyler Reddick
33. Leilani Munter
34. Thomas Praytor
35. Maryeve Dufault
36. Tim Viens
37. Ed Pompa
38. Barry Fitzgerald
39. Dick Doheny
40. Bobby Gerhart



Matt Weaver

Matt Weaver is the Executive Editor of POPULAR SPEED. He has covered NASCAR since 2011 and full-time since 2013. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He has been published all across the country and routinely makes radio appearances on Sirius XM Satellite radio and NBC Sports Radio Network.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.