PSLogo Fastwax


For Third Race in a Row, Kyle Busch Qualifies No. 1

By  | 

Kyle Busch will start from the pole in today’s I Love NY 355 at Watkins Glen International, taking the top qualifying spot for the third consecutive week.

Busch, who won from the pole last weekend at Pocono Raceway, cranked out a qualifying lap of 126.925 miles per hour around the seven turn, 2.45-mile road course.

That earned Busch the top starting spot for the second and final Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series road race of the year.

It was the sixth pole of the year for Busch and the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, including four of the last five races. “That’s pretty good,” said Busch. “… Obviously felt pretty good, was pretty good.”

In  his career, the 2015 Cup champion now has 25 poles in 448 attempts.

Starting second will be Kyle Larson in the No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet. Martin Truex Jr., Chase Elliott and Daniel Suarez completed the top five.

For his final road-course race prior to retiring at the end of the season, Dale Earnhardt Jr. will line up 28th. Earnhardt has struggled all weekend, failing to crack the top 25 in either of the two Saturday practices and lacking speed in qualifying, too.

Today’s race will be the 22nd of 26 in the Cup regular season. After the Richmond race in September, the 16-driver field will be set for the 10-race, season-ending Cup playoffs.

Heading in to this race, 13 drivers have already all but locked themselves into the playoff field by virtue of winning races.

FOLLOW ON TWITTER: @tomjensen100

The thoughts and opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of, its owners, management or other contributors. Any links contained in this article should not be considered an endorsement.

Tom Jensen

Tom Jensen is a veteran motorsports journalist. He spent 13 years with, where he was Digital Content Manager. Previously, he was executive editor of NASCAR Scene and managing editor of National Speed Sport News. Jensen served as the president of the National Motorsports Press Association and is the group’s former Writer of the Year.