PSLogo Fastwax


Grant Enfinger wins Pole for Daytona Truck Series Opener

By  | 

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — Grant Enfinger backed up his confidence from Thursday Truck Series practice by setting the fast time for the NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona International Speedway on Friday night.

Enfinger is the defending ARCA Racing Series champion and advanced up the ladder with his entire championship winning team from last season. Enfinger isn’t yet sure if he will go full-time this season, and surely starting the campaign with a pole, will only help move things in the right direction.

“This is just a big deal for GMS Racing,” Enfinger said. “I’m really proud to be a part of this team and help put them on the pole at Daytona. This is the first time that we’ve hung our own superspeedway bodies and it’s a testament to the team that we were able to get the pole.”

Enfinger’s pole is the first of his career in seven career starts and his GMS Racing teammate Johnny Sauter earned will begin the race alongside him. Their other teammate, Spencer Gallagher, will start 11th.

The complete the starting lineup for the Truck Series opener can be found below.

1. Grant Enfinger
2. Johnny Sauter
3. Timothy Peters
4. Austin Theriault
5. Daniel Suarez
6. Matt Crafton
7. John Wes Townley
8. Christopher Bell
9. Cody Coughlin
10. Cole Custer
11. Spencer Gallagher
12. Tyler Reddick
13. William Byron
14. Cameron Haley
15. John Hunter Nemechek
16. Rico Abreu
17. Chris Fontaine
18. Daniel Hemric
19. Austin Wayne Self
20. Ryan Truex
21. Tyler Young
22. Brandon Brown
23. Parker Kilgerman
24. Ben Rhodes
25. Bobby Gerhart
26. Scott Laggase
27. Jordan Anderson
28. Tommy Joe Martins
29. Michel Disdier
30. Timmy Hill
31. Ben Kennedy
32. Travis Kvapil

Matt Weaver is the Executive Editor of POPULAR SPEED. He has covered NASCAR since 2011 and full-time since 2013. Weaver grew up in the sport, having raced himself before becoming a reporter in college at the University of South Alabama. He has been published all across the country and routinely makes radio appearances on Sirius XM Satellite radio and NBC Sports Radio Network.