PSLogo Fastwax


King joins Camara at MP Motorsport

By  | 

The GP2 driver announcements continued to come fast with just under a month to go until the start of testing, as Jordan King was announced as an MP Motorsport driver for the 2017 season.

He will pilot their No. 14 car for his third season in GP2 and partners Sergio SetteCamara at the team.

The British racer previously tested one of their entries in post-season testing in December at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi, finishing in the top four on the second and third day of testing. He competed with Russian Time on the first day of the three-day test.

King, 22, has previously taken part in 43 races in the series for Racing Engineering, winning twice in sprint races in Austria and Britain last year.The British driver’s best championship finish was seventh place in the Drivers’ Championship in 2016.

His career procession also developed after competing in a Formula 1 session for the first time last year in addition to his GP2 adventures, taking part in practice one sessions at the United States and Abu Dhabi Grands Prix as a development driver for Manor.

It is unlikely that he will continue in this role unless the team can be miraculously saved at the last minute by a new buyer to keep the team on the F1 grid.

Their line-up choice means they follow Arden, Prema and Racing Engineering in changing both drivers from 2016 to 2017. They have never done this since starting racing in the series in 2013.

Last season was the first time that just two drivers, Oliver Rowland and Daniel de Jong, completed a full season in their cockpits. This latest announcement now means that 11 drivers have confirmed drives for the current season so far, almost half of the grid.

The first pre-season test of the 2017 GP2 season takes place on March 13-15 at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya in Spain.

Current 2017 GP2 Series Grid (TBA = To Be Announced):

Prema Racing: #1 Charles Leclerc, #2 Antonio Fuoco

Racing Engineering: #3 Louis Deletraz, #4 Gustav Malja

Russian Time: #5 TBA, #6 TBA

ART Grand Prix: #7 Nobuharu Matsushita, #8 TBA

DAMS: #9 Oliver Rowland, #10 Nicholas Latifi

Campos Racing: #11 TBA, #12 TBA

MP Motorsport: #14 Jordan King, #15 Sergio SetteCamara

Trident: #16 TBA, #17 TBA

Rapax: #18 TBA, #19 TBA

Pertamina Arden: #20 Norman Nato, #21 Sean Gelael

Hilmer Motorsport (TBA): #22 TBA, #23 TBA


The thoughts and opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of, its owners, management or other contributors. Any links contained in this article should not be considered an endorsement.

Cameron Paterson

Cameron Paterson has been a watcher of Formula 1 since 2007, a casual television watch evolved to watching and reading anything related to something with wheels and an engine. A fan of writing, it was a no-brainer about what to do to try and get into motorsport, consistently discussing things about this great sport since 2016.