PSLogo Fastwax


Kyle Larson Will Run Knoxville Nationals Tonight

By  | 

Kyle Larson has gotten the blessing from NASCAR team owner Chip Ganassi to compete in tonight’s Knoxville (Iowa) Nationals, the most prestigious sprint car race of the year.

Wednesday at Knoxville Raceway, Larson won qualifying night at the Knoxville Nationals, which locked him into tonight’s championship race, where he’ll start ninth.

Originally, there was some question about whether or not Larson would get the OK to race, given that his day gig driving the Ganassi-owned No 42 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series car is keeping him busy.

Yesterday, Larson qualified ninth for the Pure Michigan 400 at Michigan International Speedway, where he has won the last two Cup races.  And Saturday morning, Larson was fastest in the opening round of practice.

But Ganassi relented after an aggressive social media campaign on Twitter featuring the hashtag: #LetKyleRace.

“Chip is allowing me to go to Knoxville (Saturday), which is great,” Larson said Friday at MIS. “So, I will get to go and compete in the A-main there and then come back and try and go for three in a row here.  Cool weekend for me and really excited for it.”

Larson thanked his team owner for giving him the go-ahead.

“Ultimately, it’s all Chip’s decision,” said Larson. “I know my fans really appreciate it.  All my sprint car fans and NASCAR fans, so Chip is a hero today and this weekend.  I appreciate it.”


FOLLOW ON TWITTER: @tomjensen100

The thoughts and opinions expressed here are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of, its owners, management or other contributors. Any links contained in this article should not be considered an endorsement.

Tom Jensen

Tom Jensen is a veteran motorsports journalist. He spent 13 years with, where he was Digital Content Manager. Previously, he was executive editor of NASCAR Scene and managing editor of National Speed Sport News. Jensen served as the president of the National Motorsports Press Association and is the group’s former Writer of the Year.