PSLogo Fastwax


Kyle Weatherman Earns Pole for ARCA Iowa 150

By  | 

NEWTON, Iowa — Kyle Weatherman won his second ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards pole award of the season Friday, setting the fastest time for tonight’s #ThisIsMySpeedway150 at Iowa Speedway.

Weatherman, 18, turned his fastest qualifying lap in 130.106 mph in winning his second pole of the season, and first since taking the Menards Pole Award presented by Ansell honor at Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville April 11. He finished that race in fifth. He’s hoping for more at the .875-mile Iowa Speedway.

“I believe we will be in good shape for all 150 laps tonight,” said Weatherman, driver of the No. 22 Cunningham Motorsports Dodge.

Weatherman tested at Iowa Speedway a couple of weeks ago. The car is much better now, he said.

“To be honest, we were really bad at the test,” Weatherman said. “We went back to the shop and worked pretty hard and we threw everything we had at it. Obviously, it worked. I’m proud of everyone at the shop for all of their hard work.”

His Cunningham Motorsports teammates Austin Cindric, in the No. 99 AutoZone Ford, will start fourth and Tom Hessert, in the No. 77 Barbera’s Autoland Dodge, will start eighth. Cindric is making his first career ARCA start and was also part of that test session.

Next up for the ARCA Racing Series is the race, which will start just after 8 p.m. CT. It will be live on Fox Sports 1.

Weatherman topped Matt Kurzejewski by 0.037 seconds in Friday’s afternoon qualifying. Kurzejewski, in the No. 54 Elmira Heat Treating Ford, was fastest in the 90-minute practice session held Friday morning. Brandon Jones qualified third in the No. 25 Ansell-Menards Toyota before spinning on his second lap while series point leader Grant Enfinger qualified fifth in the No. 23 Allegiant Travel Chevrolet.

Others with a top 10 starting position include sixth-place Matt Tifft, Mason Mitchell in seventh, Austin Wayne Self in ninth and Sarah Cornett-Ching in 10th.

Todd Gilliland, driving for Venturini Motorsports, qualified 11th in the No. 55 Renton Coil Springs Toyota.

The heat index at Iowa Speedway is more than 100 degrees. Weatherman said he feels since the race starts later in the day, it will not affect the cars.

“We’re going to have to pay attention to the overheating, but I think we will be good,” he said. “Since it is an 8 p.m. race, I think we’ll be in good shape.”

The race will air live on Fox Sports 1 at 8 p.m. CT. It will re-air at 3 a.m. ET, July 18 on Fox Sports 1 and at 3 p.m. ET on July 19 on Fox Sports 2.

  1. Kyle Weatherman
  2. Matt Kurzejewski
  3. Brandon Jones
  4. Austin Cindric
  5. Grant Enfinger
  6. Matt Tifft
  7. Mason Mitchell
  8. Tom Hessert
  9. Austin Wayne Self
  10. Sarah Cornett-Ching
  11. Todd Gilliland
  12. Josh Williams
  13. Blake Jones
  14. Bo LeMastus
  15. J. Fike
  16. Michael Lira
  17. David Levine
  18. Bobby Gerhart
  19. Tom Berte
  20. James Swanson
  21. David Sear
  22. Thomas Praytor
  23. Con Nicolopoulos
  24. Rick Clifton
  25. Richard Altman
  26. Josh White

Popular Speed

POPULAR SPEED is a Social Media driven website featuring exclusive content, photographs, news and pointed editorials. It’s makeup consists of veteran motorsports journalists as well as the unique voice of developing young talent. POPULAR SPEED was launched in 2013 under the direction of former Sprint Cup Series spotter, Mike Calinoff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.