PSLogo Fastwax

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup

Martin Truex Jr. Fully Sponsored For 2018

By  | 
  • 5

Good news for Furniture Row Racing: Martin Truex Jr.’s No. 78 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Toyota Camry is fully sponsored for 2018.

Truex, the current Cup points leader and winner of two of the first four NASCAR playoff races of the year, will have Bass Pro Shop as his primary sponsor for 16 races next year, 5-Hour Energy for 14 races and Auto-Owners Insurance for six more, the team announced Sunday morning at Talladega Superspeedway. Sponsorship is pending for the final two races of 2018.

“This type of a co-primary sponsorship has been made a reality only because of the incredible cooperation between Johnny Morris and his Bass Pro team, along with Rise’ Meguiar and her 5-hour Energy team,” said Furniture Row Racing team owner Barney Visser.

“It took a number of conversations and a spirit of partnership to make this happen and we thank Bass Pro Shops and 5-hour Energy for being open-minded to this concept,” said Visser. “Bass Pro and 5-hour Energy are winning companies and we will do everything we can on the racetrack to provide them not only with a winning team but represent them in the highest standard. We also want to give a special thank you to Auto-Owners Insurance for its cooperation in moving markets around to enable this overall partnership with Bass Pro Shops and 5-hour Energy to work.”

Truex has had a breakout 2017 Cup season, leading the series in race victories (6), top 10s (21) and laps led (1,977). He is also tied for most top-five finishes with 14.

Furniture Row Racing will cut back to a single car next year, with the No. 77 temporarily going on hiatus as driver Erik Jones moves to Joe Gibbs Racing.

Tom Jensen

Tom Jensen is a veteran motorsports journalist. He spent 13 years with, where he was Digital Content Manager. Previously, he was executive editor of NASCAR Scene and managing editor of National Speed Sport News. Jensen served as the president of the National Motorsports Press Association and is the group’s former Writer of the Year.